Film Series

Brooklyn Close-Up

 
 

BAMcinématek celebrates nine decades of Brooklyn film history.

 
 
 
 
BACK
 
BACK

BAMcinématek celebrates nine decades of Brooklyn film history with this monthly film series. From Carroll Gardens to Coney Island, Martin Scorsese's Goodfellas to Harold Lloyd's Speedy, this program showcases how the county of Kings has inspired filmmakers since the silent era. Following each film, sip some Brooklyn beer courtesy of Brooklyn Brewery.


Leadership support by

Steve Tisch
Laurie Tisch
Lizzie and Jonathan Tisch

 
 
PAST EVENTS
Film
Vigilante
 

A father seeks justice for his son's murder in this critique of the New York legal system.

Mon, Nov 12, 2012
 
 
Film
Richard's Wedding
 

Two old friends make their way to a wedding in Central Park in this irreverent comedy.

Mon, Sep 24, 2012
 
 
Film
The Landlord
 

Hal Ashby’s comedy presents a nuanced exploration of race relations and gentrification.

Mon, Aug 27, 2012
 
 
Film
The French Connection
 

William Friedkin's gritty cat-and-mouse masterpiece is as tough as police thrillers come.

Mon, Jul 30, 2012
 
 
Film
Arsenic and Old Lace
 

Frank Capra's adaptation of the hit stage play about two murderous old maids.

Mon, Jul 2, 2012
 
 
Film
Mutual Appreciation
 

An indie-rock musician moves to New York to kick-start his career.

Mon, May 21, 2012
 
 
Film
The Wiz
 

The Motown-produced take on The Wizard of Oz, starring Diana Ross and Michael Jackson.

Mon, Dec 17, 2012
 
 
Film
Moonstruck
 

Cher is at her Oscar-winning best in this delightful Brooklyn Heights-set romantic comedy.

Mon, Feb 25, 2013
 
 
Film
Saturday Night Fever
 

Brooklyn has changed, music has evolved, but 35 years later this movie is stayin’ alive.

Mon, Apr 29, 2013
 
 
Film
The Squid and the Whale
 

A writer couple’s divorce takes a toll on their kids in this Brooklyn-set drama.

Mon, May 13, 2013
 
 
Film
Our Song
 

A refreshingly raw portrait of female adolescence set in Crown Heights.

Tue, Jul 23, 2013
 
 
Film
Dog Day Afternoon
 

Al Pacino stars in one of the best summer-in-the-city films ever.

Mon, Sep 30, 2013