Film Series

Nonesuch Records on Film

 
 
Sep 8—Sep 25, 2014
 
 
 
 
 
BACK
 
BACK

On the 50th anniversary of Nonesuch Records, BAMcinématek celebrates the label’s commitment to releasing some of film history’s boldest and most memorable music. Showcasing iconic film scores by Philip Glass, John Adams, Georges Delerue, Toru Takemitsu, and more, this series brings Nonesuch’s rich catalogue of soundtracks to the big screen.

Special guest appearances by Philip Glass, Peter Sellars, and John Adams!


Major Sponsor of Nonesuch Records at BAM:
 
PAST EVENTS
Film
Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters
 

Paul Schrader deconstructs the extraordinary life and death of writer Yukio Mishima.

Mon, Sep 8, 2014
 
 
Film
I Am Love
 

Tilda Swinton gives a tour-de-force performance in this sumptuous soap opera.

Thu, Sep 11, 2014
 
 
Film
Jules and Jim
 

Truffaut’s New Wave masterpiece features an unforgettable performance by Jeanne Moreau.

Fri, Sep 12, 2014
 
 
Film
Shoot the Piano Player
 

The great chanteur Charles Aznavour stars in Truffaut’s exhilarating ode to film noir.

Sat, Sep 13, 2014
 
 
Film
Rebel Without a Cause
 

James Dean gives an iconic performance in Nicholas Ray’s Technicolor opera of teen angst.

Sun, Sep 14, 2014
 
 
Film
Two English Girls
 

A Frenchman is caught up in a 20-year love triangle in Truffaut’s bittersweet romance.

Mon, Sep 15, 2014
 
 
Film
East of Eden
 

An explosive James Dean stars in Elia Kazan’s masterful adaptation of the Steinbeck novel.

Tue, Sep 16, 2014
 
 
Film
The Bad Seed
 

A mom discovers her eight-year-old daughter is a serial killer in this cult classic.

Wed, Sep 17, 2014
 
 
Film
Spartacus
 

Kirk Douglas leads a Roman slave revolt in Kubrick’s sweeping sword-and-sandals epic.

Sun, Sep 21, 2014
 
 
Film
Harakiri
 

This gripping samurai epic features a nerve-shredding modernist score by Toru Takemitsu.

Mon, Sep 22, 2014
 
 
Film
Woman in the Dunes
 

A beetle researcher is trapped in the desert in this Kafkaesque tale of sex and sand.

Tue, Sep 23, 2014
 
 
Film
Orfeu
 

This electrifying retelling of the Orpheus myth is set in Rio de Janeiro during Carnival.

Wed, Sep 24, 2014
 
 
Film
The Cabinet of Dr. Ramirez
 

Iconic director Peter Sellars helmed this twisted take on the German silent classic.

Thu, Sep 25, 2014
Members only