Programs

BAMcafé Live

 
 
Sep 20, 2013—Jun 30, 2014
 
 
 
 
 
BACK
 
BACK

Free live music on select Friday and Saturday nights, featuring rock, jazz, R&B, world music, pop, and more from Brooklyn and beyond.

Read more about the history of BAMcafé Live.

Questions? Read the BAMcafé Live frequently asked questions.


SPONSORED BY
Con Edison Logo
 
Music
Trio Feral
Sat, Apr 19, 2014
 
Trio Feral
Sat, Apr 19, 2014
 

Brooklyn-based group Trio Feral unleash far out soundscapes built on tribal beats, sub-bass frequencies, outer-space sounds, and free-jazz improvisation.

MORE
 
Free
Music
Mad Satta
Fri, Apr 25, 2014
 
Mad Satta
Fri, Apr 25, 2014
 

This ultra-tight eight-piece outfit concocts lush R&B awash in electric organs, bright horns, and deep bass-line grooves, while powerhouse frontwoman Joanna Teters croons and coos in a rich, soulful alto.

MORE
 
Free
Music
The Smyrk with special guest Mike Falzone
Sat, Apr 26, 2014
 
The Smyrk with special guest Mike Falzone
Sat, Apr 26, 2014
 

Marrying punk energy with soulful vocals, this blistering guitar-rock quartet delivers richly textured post-hardcore anthems about everything from comic book heroes to Fight Club.

MORE
 
Free
Music
Al MacDowell's Just Ornette Quartet
Fri, May 2, 2014
 
Al MacDowell's Just Ornette Quartet
Fri, May 2, 2014
 

Electric piccolo bassist Al MacDowell—who started out playing with Ornette Coleman in 1975—leads this veteran ensemble, which pushes the boundaries of free jazz into the outer limits and beyond.

+ Happy Hour 6—8pm
MORE
 
Free
Music
Juancho Herrera
Sat, May 3, 2014
 
Juancho Herrera
Sat, May 3, 2014
 

Guitarist and singer Juancho Herrera offers a vibrant, refreshingly original take on Latin jazz, fusing intricate South American rhythms with unexpected dashes of electronica and rock.

+ Happy Hour 6—8pm
MORE
 
Free
Music
Jus Post Bellum
Fri, May 9, 2014
 
Jus Post Bellum
Fri, May 9, 2014
 

This Brooklyn-based foursome evokes America’s Civil War era with plaintive, reverb-drenched folk ballads and rousing barn stompers.

MORE
 
Free
Music
Persian and Balkan Break-out!
Sat, May 10, 2014
 
Persian and Balkan Break-out!
Sat, May 10, 2014
 

This continent-hopping double bill brings together Persian outfit Vatan, who puts a country twist on Middle-Eastern folk, and the Eva Salina Band, who performs soul-shaking Balkan ballads.

+ Happy Hour 6—8pm
MORE
 
Free
Music
pILLOW tHEORY
Fri, May 16, 2014
 
pILLOW tHEORY
Fri, May 16, 2014
 

Blistering punk energy meets unexpected finesse in the raw, but refined sounds of this four-piece rock outfit.

+ Happy Hour 6—8pm
MORE
 
Free
Music
A Brooklyn Tribute to Amiri Baraka
Sat, May 17, 2014
 
A Brooklyn Tribute to Amiri Baraka
Sat, May 17, 2014
 

A panoply of Brooklyn poets, writers, musicians, and thinkers pay homage to the pioneering African-American writer and activist, with readings and performances celebrating his life.

+ Happy Hour 6—8pm
MORE
 
Free
Music
THE EARTHMAN EXPERIENCE feat. DJ HARD HITTIN HARRY
Fri, May 23, 2014
 
THE EARTHMAN EXPERIENCE feat. DJ HARD HITTIN HARRY
Fri, May 23, 2014
 

Haitian-born vocalist Richard “Earthman” Laurent presides over this nine-piece funk ensemble that makes Fela Kuti-inspired, Afrobeat-meets-tribal-house jams.

MORE
 
Free
Music
Late Night Dance Party with DJ Ian Friday
Sat, May 24, 2014
 
Late Night Dance Party with DJ Ian Friday
Sat, May 24, 2014
 

DJ Ian Friday has been at the heart of the global soul scene since the early 90s with his groove-heavy sets—a patented blend of house, soul, Afrobeat, jazz, and world music guaranteed to get audiences moving.

MORE
 
Free
Music
Jeremiah Hosea Trio
Fri, May 30, 2014
 
Jeremiah Hosea Trio
Fri, May 30, 2014
 

Acclaimed bassist Jeremiah Hosea fronts this hard-rocking funk ensemble that showcases his jaw-dropping technical ability and progressive political consciousness.

MORE
 
Free
Music
Ursa Minor
Sat, May 31, 2014
 
Ursa Minor
Sat, May 31, 2014
 

Indie veterans Ursa Minor deliver ultra-melodic guitar rock that combines power-pop hooks, avant-jazz experimentation, and garage-rock energy, anchored by frontwoman Michelle Casillas’ powerful vocals.

MORE
 
Free
PAST EVENTS
Music
Olga Bell
 

Dirty Projectors’ Olga Bell crafts fragile, haunting synth-driven pop songs.

Fri, Sep 20, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Heliotropes
 

This impressive new Brooklyn band churns out sludgy psych-rock anthems.

Sat, Sep 21, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Wishes and Thieves
 

Wishes and Thieves makes blissful electronic pop with soaring vocals and glitchy drumbeats.

Fri, Sep 27, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Margot B
 

R&B chanteuse Margot B delivers dance-floor-ready rave-ups and slinky slow jams.

Sat, Sep 28, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Hank & Cupcakes
 

This Williamsburg duo brings its raucous, irresistible, rave-like live show to BAMcafé.

Fri, Oct 4, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
International Blues Express: Cedric Watson and Sidi Touré
 

The blues traditions of Africa and the Delta meet in this pairing of two master musicians.

Sat, Oct 5, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Gordon Chambers
 

Grammy Award-winning songwriter Gordon Chambers is a master of the vintage soul sound.

Fri, Oct 11, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Magos Herrera
 

Renowned Latin Jazz vocalist Magos Herrera melds classic jazz and beguiling South American rhythms.

Sat, Oct 12, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Claudia Acuña
 

Singer Claudia Acuña stretches the boundaries of traditional Latin Jazz.

Fri, Oct 18, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Numinous
 

Composer Joseph C. Phillips’ ensemble fuses contemporary classical and popular music.

Sat, Oct 19, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
AMERICAN CANDY
 

Comedy-musical troupe AMERICAN CANDY skewers pop culture with a large dose of irreverence.

Fri, Oct 25, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
DJ Jeannie Hopper
 

The host of WBAI’s Liquid Sound Lounge hosts a groove-laden soul-funk dance party.

Sat, Oct 26, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
The Irrepressibles
 

This 10-piece art-pop orchestra fuses elements of synth pop and contemporary classical.

Nov 1—Nov 2, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
JENNY OWEN YOUNGS
 

This refreshingly witty and offbeat, singer-songwriter writes breezy, hook-laden pop songs.

Fri, Nov 8, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
The Mala Waldron Project
 

Soul chanteuse Mala Waldron marries jazz piano mastery with a smoky, powerhouse voice.

Sat, Nov 9, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Kidding on the Square
 

This Brooklyn-based electro-funk outfit pairs dance beats and anthemic lyrics.

Fri, Nov 15, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Tai Allen’s Tribute to Oscar Brown, Jr.
 

Tai Allen pays tribute to the utterly singular performer and civil rights activist.

Sat, Nov 16, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Water Seed
 

This big, bold soul ensemble marries funk and traditional New Orleans jazz.

Fri, Nov 22, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Earl McIntyre’s 60th Birthday Extravaganza
 

The renowned jazz trombonist celebrates his 60th birthday with a bash at BAMcafé.

Sat, Nov 23, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Akim Funk Buddha Hip Hop Holiday
 

Visionary MC Akim Funk Buddha returns to BAMcafé for two nights of hip-hop revelry inspired by Japan.

Nov 29—Nov 30, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Eugene Marlow’s Heritage Ensemble
 

This innovative ensemble reinvigorates Hebrew melodies with the rhythms of Latin jazz.

Fri, Dec 6, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Judith Owen and Harry Shearer’s Holiday Sing-Along
 

Kick off the holidays with The Simpsons’ Harry Shearer and singer-songwriter Judith Owen.

Sat, Dec 7, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
The Will Calhoun Trio
 

Living Colour drummer Will Calhoun takes jazz standards into bold new sonic territory.

Fri, Dec 13, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
The GrooveBarbers’ A Cappella Holiday Concert
 

This powerhouse vocal quartet brings holiday cheer to BAMcafé.

Sat, Dec 14, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
The Sway Machinery
 

Jewish cantorial music gets a brass-heavy, worldbeat-meets-raucous-rock ‘n’ roll spin.

Fri, Dec 20, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
TamarRaqs Winter Solstice Hafla
 

Celebrate the longest night of the year with an evening of North African music and dance.

Sat, Dec 21, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Charanga Soleil
 

This pan-Caribbean ensemble returns to BAMcafé for its annual holiday dance party.

Dec 27—Dec 28, 2013
 
 
Free
Music
Ayanna Lee
 

Velvet-voiced chanteuse Ayanna Lee concocts sultry, soulful R&B jams.

Fri, Jan 3, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Mary Halvorson Quintet
 

Mary Halvorson takes jazz guitar into bold new sonic territory.

Sat, Jan 4, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Migguel Anggelo
 

The Venezuelan singer performs works by Agustín Lara, Astor Piazzolla, and more.

Fri, Jan 10, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Threefifty
 

This classically trained guitarist duo creates hushed and haunting post-rock soundscapes.

Sat, Jan 11, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Onaje Allan Gumbs & New Vintage
 

Jazz pianist Onaje Allan Gumbs gathers top musicians, poets, and dancers.

Jan 17—Jan 18, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Elisabeth Lohninger
 

This distinctive jazz vocalist lends her rich, husky alto to pop covers and originals.

Fri, Jan 31, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Scrapomatic
 

Mike Mattison and Paul Olsen churn out rollicking, Delta blues-inspired roots rock.

Sat, Feb 1, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Russell Taylor
 

This veteran performer’s soaring, soulful ballads are a throwback to the golden age of soul.

Sat, Feb 8, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
The Soulfolk Experience
 

This trio of veteran performers specializes in sultry, mellow acoustic soul.

Sat, Feb 15, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
The Eric Wyatt Quartet
 

This exuberant saxophonist delivers high-energy hard bop in the classic Blue Note tradition.

Fri, Feb 21, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Akie Bermiss
 

This soulful singer and keyboardist is a staple of Brooklyn’s neo-soul scene.

Sat, Feb 22, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Beatrhyme Communications
 

A dizzying display of performers pushing the boundaries of beatboxing, scatting, and beyond.

Fri, Feb 28, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Angela Johnson
 

Angela Johnson delivers old-school R&B that showcases her incredible voice.

Sat, Mar 1, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Marika Hughes & Bottom Heavy
 

Adventurous cello-driven songs that flirt with classical, jazz, and soul.

Fri, Mar 7, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Kendra Morris
 

Lush, groove-laden neo-soul bolstered by a soaring voice.

Sat, Mar 8, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Common Thread featuring Gabrielle Walter-Clay
 

This all-female band delivers tight, in-the-pocket funk grooves.   

Fri, Mar 14, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Divinity Roxx
 

Hard-rocking rap, delivered over fast and furious bass lines.

Sat, Mar 15, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
SLV
 

SLV creates moody, intensely personal pop songs with a subtle electronic edge.

Fri, Mar 21, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Sara Serpa & André Matos
 

Seductively laid-back, mellow folk from the Portuguese guitar and voice duo.

Sat, Mar 22, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
White Prism
 

Songstress Johanna Cranitch layers breathy vocals over dreamy synthpop.

Fri, Mar 28, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
The New Cookers
 

This Brooklyn-based outfit plays hard-bop jazz with a subtle hip-hop influence.

Sat, Mar 29, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
FRO
 

FRO fuses rock guitar firepower with the finesse of jazz and the rhythmic pull of funk.

Fri, Apr 4, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
RES
 

Commanding chanteuse RES combines indie rock experimentation with soulful vocals.

Sat, Apr 5, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Victor V. Gurbo & Co.
 

These roots revivalists create bluesy, foot-stomping folk ballads.

Fri, Apr 11, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Chris Rob
 

Singer-songwriter Chris Rob delivers old-school slow jams and 80s-inspired electro-funk.

Sat, Apr 12, 2014
 
 
Free
Music
Oscar Peñas
 

This Catalan-born jazz guitarist brings a distinctive Spanish flavor to his compositions.

Fri, Apr 18, 2014
 
 
Free