Proof of Covid-19 Vaccination Required
We are thrilled to be welcoming you back to in-person events at BAM! Our utmost priority is the health and safety of our staff, artists, and audiences.

As of August 16, BAM requires proof of Covid-19 vaccination for all visitors and staff. We are continually adapting our policies in adherence with the most up-to-date health and safety protocols.
Read More


ATOMIC BOMB! The Music of William Onyeabor

US Premiere
May 2—May 3, 2014
May 2014
27 28 29 30 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31
Friday May 02, 2014
Performances no longer available.

BAM, Luaka Bop, and Red Bull Music Academy present

ATOMIC BOMB! The Music of William Onyeabor

“…Onyeabor mostly sounds like nobody else on the planet.”

A diverse lineup of tremendously talented musicians celebrate the music of the elusive Nigerian synth-funk pioneer William Onyeabor. Under the musical direction of Ahmed Gallab (Sinkane), ATOMIC BOMB! The Music of William Onyeabor features performances by David Byrne, Money Mark (Beastie Boys), Pat Mahoney (LCD Soundsystem), Alexis Taylor (Hot Chip), Luke Jenner (the Rapture), Devonté Hynes (Blood Orange), the Lijadu Sisters, and Joshua Redman. This engagement is one of the first in a month-long citywide music festival from Red Bull Music Academy.

William Onyeabor self-released eight albums in southeastern Nigeria between 1978 and 1985, all of them now nearly impossible to find. He soon after disappeared from the music scene. After a five-year odyssey to track down Onyeabor, the Luaka Bop label released Who is William Onyeabor? in 2013. The album introduced Onyeabor’s infectious music to a wider audience and was included on Time magazine’s Top 10 Albums of the year and named a Best New Reissue by Pitchfork.

David Byrne
Pat Mahoney (LCD Soundsystem)
Money Mark (Beastie Boys)
Alexis Taylor (Hot Chip)
Luke Jenner (The Rapture)
Devonté Hynes (Blood Orange)
The Lijadu Sisters
Joshua Redman

Related Content