Proof of Covid-19 Vaccination Required
We are thrilled to be welcoming you back to in-person events at BAM! Our utmost priority is the health and safety of our staff, artists, and audiences.

As of August 16, BAM requires proof of Covid-19 vaccination for all visitors and staff. We are continually adapting our policies in adherence with the most up-to-date health and safety protocols.
Read More


On the Threshold of Winter

World premiere
Wed, Jun 25, 2014
  • 7:30PM
RUN TIME: 1hr 55min (with intermission)
ALL TICKETS:  $40; $20 for students & seniors (in-person only)
See all on-sale dates
Single Tickets
Fri Jan 10
General public
June 2014
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 1 2 3 4 5
Wednesday June 25, 2014
Performances no longer available.
A new monodrama by Michael Hersch, set to text by Marin Sorescu
Directed by Roger Brunyate
Presented by Nunc
"Hersch's language never hesitates to leap into the abyss—and in ways that, for some listeners, go straight to parts of the soul that few living composers touch."
—The Philadelphia Inquirer

Michael Hersch’s long-awaited first work for the stage receives its world premiere. Scored for soprano and an ensemble of eight, the two-act work follows the trajectory of Marin Sorescu’s wrenching last book,  The Bridge. Suffering from the late stages of cancer, Sorescu wrote these poems in hospital during his life’s final weeks.

In the words of co-translator Adam J. Sorkin: “These poems … expressions of doubt, reluctant faith, protest … are a testament not just to human mortality and pain, but to resistance ... a creative transformation of the struggle to accept fate and in the same breath attempt to defy its imminent finality … I suspect though, that there is no way to be immune to the harrowing content, even if one tries. The volume progresses chronologically from the beginning of November 1996 onward. A mere five weeks. Most of the poems are dated, and the inexorable momentum of poem after poem toward Sorescu’s death seems to make the book something like a medieval tableau, a dance of death arranged as a procession of still living poems.”

Soprano: Ah Young Hong
Conductor: Tito Muñoz
Violin: Miranda Cuckson
Cello: Julia Bruskin
Flute: Tara O’Connor
Oboe: Arthur Sato
Clarinet: Vasko Dukovski
Bass clarinet: Benjamin Fingland
Piano: Matei Varga
Percussion: Matthew Gold

This event is presented by Nunc. BAM house and ticketing policies may not apply.